Thoughts on 1 Samuel 17

But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. Vs. 24-25 (NIV)

I think it’s easy to think that David killing Golliath was simply miraculous. When I read verses 34-35, it is clear that God had been preparing and training David for years. It could be that God divinely softened the forehead which is the softest part of the skull or that the rock plunged into the temple (softest), but either way, a miss would have been a miss. Unfortunately, we don’t have access to the CSI report. =) God certainly performs miracles, but more often than not, he works with us and our imperfections. I think that if we would follow God’s plan, miracles wouldn’t be needed.

Wow, what has God been preparing me for? I was thinking that he wanted me to win The Masters tournament and give Him all the glory, but that went to Bubba Watson. Perhaps the databases in heaven need a major upgrade. I know that God is preparing my body, mind, and spirit for His plans. I’m not sure what they are, but I know that I want to be always ready to say…

Here I am Lord, send me!

Lord, thank you for preparing me for whatever You have in store. I ask for protection from the enemies plans to disrupt and destroy whatever You have in store. I am thankful for all the gifts and blessings you have given me. All glory to You for now and forever. In Jesus name.

Leave a comment