Thoughts on 1 Chronicles 6

Another long list of names and geneology only applicable to biblical scholors…

These are the men David put in charge of the music in the house of the LORD after the ark came to rest there. They ministered with music before the tabernacle, the tent of meeting, until Solomon built the temple of the LORD in Jerusalem. They performed their duties according to the regulations laid down for them. vs. 31-32 (NIV)

I don’t know why, but out of 1 Chonicles 6, this stood out to me. I’m amazed because John the Baptist, which was also in today’s reading, is one of my favorites. I really wanted to talk about him calling the Pharisiees a brood of vipers. Perhaps because this was some interesting information in a long list of names. I doubt it since there are other snippets of information as well.

I was reading this Monday morning before heading out for another long work week. I had this image like a bad quality Youtube video of people dancing, singing, playing instruments joyfully. I doubt Heman the Musician (love that) ever woke up saying, “I’m just not feeling it today. I think I’ll call in sick.” What an honor to minister to the Lord at the tabernacle!

Hey, wait a minute. We get to do that as well. We don’t need the tabernacle, ark, etc. We can minister to the Lord any time, any place. Anyone can, not just Levites. How much cooler is that?!

Lord, let my attitude of worship be that of ministering to you, lifting up your name, not just simple singing. I am thankful that you accept our worship despite our imperfections through salvation in Christ Jesus.

Leave a comment