Thoughts on 1 Kings 3 – Soloman Asks for Wisdom

I was pondering what would I ask for if God appeared to me in a dream. After a while, it came to me that I don’t need to wait for that to happen. John 14 says

Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

From Matthew 21

 Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

It seems pretty straightforward. Some key points that stand out are, “so that the Father may be glorified in the Son” and “If you believe”. Can it be this simple? If so, where do all the doubts come from?

I remember hearing in a seminar on equipping it constantly repeated that God wants us healthy, wealthy and happy and that we need to embrace that promise. I believe that to be true, but it’s clear that God wants us to be obedient and humble first and foremost. It seems at times that we want Jesus to be obedient to us and not the other way around as it should be.

Lord, I need to know how to be more obedient. Thank you for the life you have given me. I wouldn’t want it any other way. The more I get to know you, the better it gets. I pray that those reading this have the wisdom of Solomon and the faith of Peter. Let Your kingdom come. In Jesus name I ask it.

Leave a comment