Thoughts on Romans 2

Those people are on a dark spiral downward. But if you think that leaves you on the high ground where you can point your finger at others, think again. Every time you criticize someone, you condemn yourself. It takes one to know one. Judgmental criticism of others is a well-known way of escaping detection in your own crimes and misdemeanors. But God isn’t so easily diverted. He sees right through all such smoke screens and holds you to what you’ve done.

 

I think we often believe that since we are forgiven through Christ, that we are free to do whatever we want, that we only have to be better than “them”. I know several people on a downward spiral; one is dangerously close to the bottom I presume. Despite many attempts, they won’t change their ways. The booze is just too important to them…

No matter where we are on the spectrum of life, close to rock bottom and free falling or holding fast, pride makes us look down on others so we don’t feel so bad about our position. “At least I’m not like so-and-so…” “Hey. Can you believe that so-and-so does such-and-such?” Feeling not so bad about ourselves, we keep doing what we do, in essence rejecting God’s hand of kindness which

leads us into radical life change.

 It’s also easy to look at the outward appearance of others and presume they have it all together. I remember growing up thinking that kids whose parents were divorced had it made. They could come and go as they pleased and could play them against each other to get what they wanted. In creeps envy and jealousy. I learned later on that most of these kids actually envied those of us whose parents were still married. I wonder how much we as adults envy each other for completely opposite things. God sees right through all outward appearances. Getting dressed and making an appearance at church means little if we don’t read and obey the teaching of Christ.

Lord, You have searched me and know me inside and out. Although I try, I can’t hide from You. You made each of us for a purpose, part of Your master plan. Grant me the strength and courage to walk in Your ways, no matter how it looks to others.

Leave a comment